NSBE

National Society of Black Engineers



What is NSBE?
 

Our Mission:

To increase the number of culturally responsible Black Engineers who excel academically, succeed professionally and positively impact the community.

Our Vision

We envision a world in which engineering is a mainstream word in homes and communities of color, and all Black students can envision themselves as engineers. In this world, Blacks exceed parity in entering engineering fields, earning degrees, and succeeding professionally.

Our Objectives:

The National Society of Black Engineers strive to accomplish the following objectives for our organization:

  • Stimulate and develop student interest in the various engineering disciplines.

  • Strive to increase the number of minority students studying engineering at both the undergraduate and graduate levels.

  • Encourage members to seek advanced degrees in engineering or related fields and to obtain professional engineering registrations.

  • Promote public awareness of engineering and the opportunities for Blacks and other minorities in that profession.

  • Function as a representative body on issues and developments that affect the careers of Black Engineers.

2015-2016 Schedule
 
Black Girls Do Science
 

What Is Black Girls Do Science?

Black Girls Do Science is a workshop for African-American girls in the surounding area. The goal of the event is to encourage more black women—who make up only about two percent of U.S. scientists and engineers—to consider the STEM (science, technology, engineering and math) fields when choosing a career.


Black Girls Do Science Website
Contact Information
 


NSBE
ui_nsbe@engineering.uiowa.edu


Bailey Hadnott
President
bailey-hadnott@uiowa.edu


Siddig Siddig
Vice President
siddig-siddig@uiowa.edu


Landon Schreck
Webmaster
landon-schreck@uiowa.edu


Ahmed Elmaleh
Webmaster
ahmed-elmaleh@uiowa.edu


Hassan Ahamed
Webmaster
hassan-ahamed@uiowa.edu


Mariama Corneh
Secretary/Programs Chair
mariama-corneh@uiowa,edu


Eno Augustine-Akpan
Programs Chair
eno-abasi-augustine-akpan@uiowa.edu


Cutler Simpson
Treasurer
cutler-simpson@uiowa.edu